Beyond Ramen: Chicken Burrito Bowls

By Lydia Ford

Image result for chicken burrito bowls

Hey, Hardrockers!

In this week’s installment of Beyond Ramen, I thought I’d share one of my favorite, easiest recipes with y’all. I hope you enjoy it! I usually make this when I’m entertaining a large group of people, as this recipe makes a lot of food and is fairly inexpensive. Not to mention how easy this is to throw together!

Easy Chicken Burrito Bowls

What you’ll need:

  • Rice (brown rice or quinoa, for a healthier option)
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can whole kernel corn
  • Chicken breast (either fresh or canned, whichever works)
  • 1 pkg taco seasoning

Toppings (optional, but recommended):

  • Cheese
  • Salsa
  • Lettuce
  • Tomatoes
  • Sour Cream
  • Guacamole
  • Tortilla or chips (for dipping)

Directions:

First, you will need to prepare the chicken breast. If I’m using a fresh piece, I cut it into cubes and sear it in a pan, but if I’m using canned, I’ll just dump it straight into a pan to warm and combine the seasonings. Add the taco seasoning, and 1/4 cup of water, since chicken is a lean meat and there is no grease to aid the spreading of the seasonings. While the chicken is cooking, prepare rice or quinoa to package directions, and heat the black beans and corn. Once all three items are finished cooking or warming, combine them in a personal bowl, and top with desired toppings. Easy as that!

Leave a Reply

